# THE LITURGICAL (CALENDAR) SEASONS

The liturgical calendar of the Roman Catholic Church is divided into six major seasons:

# 1. Advent (color: Violet)

Advent is the season of quiet joy and expectation in preparation for Christmas. Advent looks forward to the two comings of Christ: his Second Coming at the end of time, and the celebration of his coming on Christmas Day more than two thousand years ago.

"The desert and the parched land will exult; the steppe will rejoice and bloom... Be strong, fear not! Here is your God, he comes with vindication." - Isaiah 35:1-10

# Advent season begins on the First Sunday of Advent (late November / early December) and concludes on December 24.

# 2. Christmas (color: White)

Christmas season is the joyful celebration of the Incarnation, when the divine Son of God took on the flesh of our humanity.

"For today in the city of David a savior has been born for you who is Christ and Lord..." - Luke 2:1-14

# <u>Christmas season begins with the Vigil Mass of Christmas Eve on December 24. It</u> <u>concludes with the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord, usually the Sunday after the</u> <u>Epiphany.</u>

### 3. Lent (color: Violet)

Lent is the season of prayer and repentance for all Christians in preparation for "Holy Church celebrates the saving work of Christ on prescribed days in the course of the year with sacred remembrance. Each week, on the day called he Lord's Day, she commemorates the Resurrection of the Lord, which she also celebrates once a year in the great Paschal Solemnity, together with his blessed Passion. In fact, throughout the course of the year the Church unfolds the entire mystery of Christ and observes the birthdays of the Saints. . ."

"Behold, now is a very acceptable time; behold, now is the day of salvation." - 2 Corinthians 5:20-6:2

# 4. Paschal Triduum (Red) (colors according to day)

The Paschal (Easter) Triduum is the central liturgical celebration of the Roman Catholic Church. The three liturgies of Holy Thursday, Good Friday and the Easter Vigil are, in fact, ONE continuous liturgy that commemorates the passion, death and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ.

### Holy Thursday (color: White)

"This is my body that is for you... This cup is the new covenant in my blood... Do this in remembrance of me." -1 Corinthians 11:23-26

#### Good Friday (color: Red)

"Behold the wood of the Cross, on which hung the salvation of the world."

- Adoration of the Cross

### Holy Saturday (Easter Vigil, color: White)

"This is the night, when Christ broke the prison-bars of death and rose victorious from the underworld. Exsultet: The Easter Proclamation

# <u>The Triduum begins on Holy Thursday at the Evening Mass of the Lord's Supper. It</u> <u>concludes on Holy Saturday night with the Easter Vigil.</u>

### 5. Easter (color: White)

### Easter season is the 50-day celebration of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

"We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him..." - Romans 6:3-11

### The Easter season begins at the Easter Vigil and concludes on Pentecost Sunday.

### 6. Ordinary Time (color: Green)

Ordinary Time celebrates the words and deeds of Jesus as he proclaims the Kingdom of God to the people of Israel and, through them, to the world.

"He went around all of Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom, and curing every disease and illness among the people." - Matthew 4:12-23

Ordinary Time is a split season. It begins at the end of the Christmas season after the Baptism of the Lord and concludes on the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday. It begins again on the Monday after Pentecost (late May or early June) and concludes with the Solemnity of Jesus Christ, King of the Universe (late November).